Via Dolorosa

Jerusalem Tours

The Via Dolorosa often translated as “Way of Suffering” is a processional route in the Old City of Jerusalem, Israel. In fact, it is believed to be the path that Jesus walked on the way to his crucifixion. The winding route from the former Antonia Fortress to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre; is a celebrated place of Christian pilgrimage. The current route has been established since the 18th century; replacing various earlier versions. It is today marked by nine Stations of the Cross; there have been fourteen stations since the late 15th century, with the remaining five stations being inside the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. 

The Via Dolorosa begins in the Muslim Quarter, north of the Temple Mount, and ends at the Church of the Holy Sepulcher in the Christian Quarter. The Via Dolorosa includes 14 stations, in which something happened to Jesus on his way to the cross: in one station, he fell, while in the other, he met his mother. Nine Via Dolorosa stops are scattered along the way, and the last five are all in the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. The terms “Via Dolorosa” and the Hebrew term “the way of torment” describe a road full of obstacles and difficulties.

Current Traditional Stations of the Via Dolorosa 

The traditional route starts inside the Lions’ Gate (St. Stephen’s Gate) in the Muslim Quarter, at the Umariya Elementary School, near the former Antonia Fortress. Then the Via Dolorosa makes its way westward through the Old City to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre in the Christian Quarter.

The current enumeration is partly based on a circular devotional walk organized by the Franciscans in the 14th century; their devotional route, heading east along the Via Dolorosa, began and ended at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. Also passing through both Gethsemane and Mount Zion during its course.

Trial by Pilate: Stations One and Two

So the first and second stations commemorate the events of Jesus’ encounter with Pontius Pilate; the former in memorial of the biblical account of the trial and Jesus’ subsequent scourging; and the latter in memorial of the Ecce homo speech; attributed by the Gospel of John to Pilate.

In This Photo: Second Station of the Cross – The Church of the Condemnation

Furthermore, on the site are three early 19th-century Roman Catholic churches; taking their names from these events; the Church of the Condemnation and Imposition of the Cross, the Church of the Flagellation; and the Church of Ecce Homo; a large area of Roman paving, beneath these structures; was traditionally regarded as Gabbatha or ‘the pavement’ described in the Bible as the location of Pilate’s judgment of Jesus.


Hi! My name is Arik Haglili, an Israeli native who decided to dedicate his life to share my knowledge about the Holy Land to those that are interested to know more about this amazing piece of land. My career as a private tour guide started at the International School For the Studying of the Holocaust and the rest is history.

Did you know the Hoopoe is Israel's national bird?! For more cool info about Israel, join our ever growing community and get exclusive travel tips, and giveaways!

Jaffa Gate


Tel Aviv Port

Tel Aviv Port gives new life to Tel Aviv. And today, the port area is one of the trendiest areas in the city. A must-see ...

Sde Boker

Sde Boker is a kibbutz in the Negev, about 30 km from Ramon Crater. Known as the residence of David Ben-Gurion in his last years.

Second Temple Model of Jerusalem

The Second Temple model of Jerusalem offers visitors a unique opportunity to see Jerusalem at its grandeur!

Good Samaritan Museum

This is very interesting story

Hecht Museum

The Hecht Museum is an archaeological museum with an impressive collection of artifacts and objects. Don't miss it if you're touring Haifa

Mount Precipice

Located just outside Nazareth, Mount Precipice is belied to be by some the site of the Rejection of Jesus described in the Gospel of Luke.

Circassian Heritage Center

The Circassian Heritage Center is a museum and official Visitors Center in Kfar Kama that preserves the origins of the Circassians.

Herod’s Royal Palaces in Jericho

Just outside of Jerusalem rests Herod’s Royal Palaces. The palaces are a great destination to go on a private tour! So let's go touring!

Enot Tsukim

Enot Tsukim Nature Reserve is a hidden gem in Israel's heart of the Judean Desert. When touring the Judean Desert don't pass this reserve!

Keshet Cave

Keshet Cave is the name of a geological attraction in the northern ridge of Betzet Reserve in the Western Galilee, in the area of ​​Adamit ...

Need help?