Teutonic Order

a crusader military order

The Order of Brothers of the German House of Saint Mary in Jerusalem also commonly known as the Teutonic Order is a Catholic religious order founded as a military order c. 1192 in Acre, Kingdom of Jerusalem. The Teutonic Order was one of the three major military orders that operated in the Kingdom of Jerusalem during the Crusades.

The order was founded in Acre in 1198 as a military order, after initially operating as a lodging; hospital, and prayer house for German-speaking pilgrims who joined the Crusades in Israel. Their unique clothing was white capes and their emblem was a black cross. The activities of the order were concentrated in two centers: one center took place in the territory of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem and another center took place in the colonies of the order in northern Europe, Germany, and the Baltic countries. 

Teutonic Orders: Military Orders

The ideology of the Order of the Templars, as formulated in their law1128; fused together two ideals that were prevalent in medieval society: the ideal of chivalry and the ideal of monasticism. This was a new phenomenon in the annals of Christian Europe, as the thousand-year-old Christian tradition was in principle opposed to war and bloodshed. It was the Crusades to the Holy Land that enabled the idea of ​​a Knights-Monks order to grow in that the Church granted them for the first time the right to engage in the fighting profession by defining its moral-religious goals.

The Teutonic Order In The Holy Land 

In 1127, a couple of German philanthropists established a hospital, a hostel, and a prayer building for German pilgrims in Jerusalem. It was a distinct urban complex that provided a solution for pilgrims who spoke the German language and did not mix with the Frankish population. The place is named after St. Mary, who became the protector of the establishment in Jerusalem. The conquest of Jerusalem in 1187 by the Muslims in the battle of  Horns of Hittin put an end to the activities of the establishment.

In 1190, when the Germans joined the Crusader forces on the Third Crusade, the need arose again for a hospital for the wounded German-speaking warriors. In 1198, at the convening of a multi-participant assembly at the Templar headquarters in Acre, it was decided to establish the Teutonic Military Order. A vivid description of these events is found in an ancient chronicle of the Order, known as the “Story of the Beginning of the Teutonic Order.”

The activities of the Order among the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem contributed greatly to the establishment of its military and administrative institutions, and a center for the study of doctrines of fortification and fortification which later contributed to the development and intensification of the Order throughout Europe. The main outpost of the order was the Monfort Fortress, which also served as its headquarters in the 13th century. 

More About The Teutonic Order

Furthermore, the Teutonic Order took an active part in the fighting events in the Frankish East and in the historical events that took place in the Crusader kingdom. In the first half of the 13th century, the Order took part in the Fifth Crusade (1217-1221) and the conquest of Damietta in Egypt and gained much recognition and appreciation for its military capability and determination on the battlefield.

Also in 1228, the Teutonic Order accompanied the journey of Emperor Frederick II to the east, and in 1229 stood by him at the signing of the Treaty of War in Jaffa with the Egyptian Sultan al-Kamel and even attended his coronation ceremony for King of Jerusalem in the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. The fighters of the order fought at the Battle of Gaza in 1239, at the Battle of Hiribya in 1244; and also accompanied the voyages of King Louis IX of France in Egypt in 1249 and of the English Prince Edward of the Galilee in 1271. On that year, July 4, they lost their main stronghold. Monfort Fortress, which was conquered by the Mamluk Sultan Baibars. 

Lastly, known Fortresses and churches in the Land of Israel belonging to them are the Monfort; Yehiam Fortress; King’s Fortress (Mi’ilya), and Church of Mary of the Germans in Jerusalem. 






Hi! My name is Arik, an Israeli native who dedicated his life to sharing my passion for the Holy Land with those interested in knowing more about this incredible piece of land. I’m the Chief Guide at ‘APT Private Tours in Israel’.

Did you know the Hoopoe is Israel's national bird?! For more cool info about Israel, join our ever growing community and get exclusive travel tips, and giveaways!

Simon Peter


Tel Hai

Tel Hai was a former Jewish settlement in northern Galilee. Originally known as Talha, the settlement was established in 1905 as a farm

The Sicarii

In this post, we delve into the origins, beliefs, and actions of the Sicarii, shedding light on their unique role in ancient Judaism.

The Battle of Megiddo

The Battle of Megiddo, fought 15th century BCE, was between the Egyptian forces under the command of Pharaoh Thutmose III and a large rebellious coalition of Canaanite vassal states led by the king ...

The Wars Of The State Of Israel

The State of Israel has been involved in several wars. Let's journey through the wars of the State of Israel since its establishment in 1948.

Flavius Josephus

Flavius Josephus (Yosef Ben Matityahu) was a historian who was born in Jerusalem. He's the main historical source for the 2nd Temple period

The Wannsee Conference

This post is about the infamous Wannsee Conference. Every visit to the Holocaust museum is an emotional visit for me.  One of the climactic moments ...


Phasael was the brother of Herod the Great. Furthermore, Phasael was born during the Hasmonean Kingdom reigns Judea to a Jewish family.

The Creation of the Nabataean Kingdom

The Creation of the Nabataean Kingdom is an amazing story in the chronicles of the Land of Israel. This post is about the Nabataean Arabs.


Geshur was a territory in the ancient Levant. There is little historical information we have about Geshur; and most of it is mentioned in the ...

Hasmonean Dynasty

Let's explore the rise, accomplishments, and lasting impact of the Hasmonean Dynasty, highlighting its legacy in shaping the Jewish identity.

Need help?